What kind of reader am I?

Posted: September 30, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,
OCO Public Domain image. I don't know where this is, but I want to go.

OCO Public Domain image. I don’t know where this is, but I want to go.

So, I’ve been thinking about reading, my reading. Since I am an English teacher, among other things, this is not that surprising. However, after some thought, I am wondering if I read like a grown up, or like a serious, English teacher grown up (use deep, serious voice when reading that).

I mean I can read like a grown up. I can read big words; I can read long, serious books (use a deep, serious voice when reading that too); I can read books that have been critically reviewed. Also, I am not good at reading a little bit each night before I go to bed, which seems like another grown up thing to do. Again, I do sometimes do this, and I appreciate books with good resting/pausing places so that I do stop.

Of course, during the school year, I read and reread books in chunks and in parts. I read carefully and underline. I think a lot about what I read, what it might mean, and how best to talk about that with my students.

When I read just for myself, I am good at is reading for hours at a time and ignoring other things when I am enjoying a book. I like to find a book (critical acclaim is fine, but not required) and then inhale it. This means that there are times that I read a lot, and there are times that I don’t read as much (or not as many books anyway). Since my office is pretty much in the library at my school (yay!), I take out a lot of books. Sometimes I take out books with attractive covers. Sometimes, I just check out a stack of books I’ve been meaning to read. I return plenty of them unread, but I can always try again.

Does this make me not a grown up reader?

Do I care?

Leave a Reply

