Accidental learning walk

Posted: August 17, 2016 in clmooc
Tags: , , , ,

So, I’ve been thinking about learning walks. Learning walks were a topic of discussion in #clmooc a while back. I did not exactly get on it at the time. However, the other day, I was walking around school looking for potential images to turn into patterns with one of my new favorite apps, Adobe Sketch.

I wasn’t really thinking about it as a learning walk at the start. Then, I was looking at something not through the camera and when I looked down my camera was focused on the patterned carpet and my toes. It turned out that image was more interesting than what I was seeing up at eye level. This got me thinking about what other patterns there might be around school. So, I went on a walk around school looking for different floor surfaces. I kept my toes in each image, because toes are summery. But also, schools are learning spaces for people, and people have toes. Not everything is so serious.

Here is a collection of some of the different floors I found. (Images combined with Pic Stitch) This lead me to think about the learning spaces associated with the various floors, which I tweeted to #clmooc.

Some of them certainly look more inviting to me. Some of them also look like they would be part of rooms that would be more conducive to learning, rooms that would be come comfortable, rooms that would be more informal. Loud rooms, quiet rooms, even outdoor rooms with no walls.

My picture then needed some more commentary. I used Adobe Spark to add text.

Screen Shot 2016-08-08 at 11.30.06 PM

I have some follow up questions for myself:

  • Could students at my school identify the various rooms or areas based on the floor?
  • What choice do we give students about the spaces in which they learn?
  • What sort of images would students take from a school learning walk?
Leave a Reply

