Curious Conversations

Posted: August 2, 2016 in clmooc
Tags: , , ,

So, I’ve been thinking about curious conversations as part of #CLMOOC. One of the “dive in” suggestions for this week is to think about Curious Conversations. There was a lot to think about with the examples, links, and audio.

In addition, I really appreciated Kevin Hodgson’s wordcloud-thinglink combo that he made the other day from my post that was in response to his post. He posted it in the comments of my post and on Twitter.

So I am trying it out myself.

Here’s what I did. (This is just what I did. Insert “thinking” in and between each item.)

  1. I read the Make Cycle 3 newsletter and was particularly interested in the description of Kevin’s and Scott’s curious conversation. I went to the links, read, listened.
  2. I went to the Institute of Curiosity website and read their page on how to have a curious conversation.
  3. I copied their content into tagul, a word cloud generator. I messed around with the formatting options, chose a speech bubble for the shape and a more free form font and organization since I think of conversations as being more random (not in a bad way).
  4. I uploaded the image to Thinglink and added my comments.

 

I’m excited to combine some of Scott Glass’ ideas (all here on the newsletter) with my earlier attempts at podcasting. Maybe I was aiming for too much with the podcasting. Small, curious conversations might be just right.

Comments
  1. dogtrax says:

    This is another great example of us riffing off each other, learning as we go along connecting, which is what I see as the heart and soul of CLMOOC. Thank you for taking the leap into this kind of close reading, and then making and connecting, and sharing out.
    Kevin

  2. sglass771 says:

    I look forward to seeing what you create and would love to stay connected as the school year begins so we can share ideas.

    • mseiteljorg says:

      Scott, thanks for reading and commenting. I’d love to share ideas as the year continues. I’ve been working on doing more podcasting, tried a few different options with my seniors last school year (https://thoughtsfromschool.wordpress.com/tag/podcast/) but it hasn’t been what I would like. I think part of what was not good was having a loose time frame and vague deadlines. It might have worked in my old 5th grade, self-contained class, but not in this environment. I will just have to commit more class time to it, if I want it to be successful. Honestly, this should not be a surprise to me at this point in my career.

Leave a Reply

