Summer Reading

Posted: August 1, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

So, I’ve been thinking about my summer reading. I am prone to compiling huge lists of reading and doing for the summer. I somehow think that I have 36 hours in the day in addition to being more productive, all evidence to the contrary.

Last summer I read a lot of books, which was great. I also got into a regular blogging habit. This summer I am trying to keep up the blogging, the reading, and add more making. Oh, and pie, and lounging with my family. You can see that I am perhaps a bit too ambitious in my plans.  However, here’s what I’ve read since June 10th, which was graduation day.

Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 10.20.14 PMFeathers, by Jacqueline Woodson. I was looking for another book by her for my YA Literature class. I’m keeping HUSH, but might drop Brown Girl Dreaming. Feathers is an interesting story, very short, probably too young for the group, and doesn’t fit in with the other titles, but could make for some good discussion.

Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 10.48.03 PMInterdicsiplinary Curriculum: Design and Implementation by Heidi Hayes Jacobs. I am part of an interdisciplinary task force that is beginning at my school. This is our summer read. Lots of great info and some solid examples. Also, helpful ways to think about curriculum. Another ASCD winner.

Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 10.22.27 PMThe Golden Compass (It’s Dark Materials #1) by Philip Pullman. I had not read this before and decided it needed to rectify that situation. I enjoyed the book, but have to say that I did not love it. The story is just getting started by the last third of the book. There are two more books in the series; I’m curious as to what happens, but maybe not curious enough.

Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 10.22.56 PMMosquitoland by David Arnold. I got this at a sidewalk sale for a great deal at my local indy children’s book store. I think I also had read about it on some list or other. Had some thoughtful things to say about mental health and families. It did not fall into a perfect ending.

Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 10.24.00 PMMarch, Book One by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell. Graphic novel by congressman and civil rights activist John Lewis about his early life. I can’t wait to read book 2. Book 3 comes out tomorrow. I missed him when he was in Philly at Amalgam Comics for a reading. That will teach me not to check if the event requires tickets.

Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 10.27.38 PMThe Outsiders by S. E. Hinton. I don’t know why I had not read this book either. I can see why it’s a classic. My daughter and I both read it while we were on a family trip. I think it would be a great one to pair with something contemporary that deals with racism.

Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 10.49.55 PMZero to Maker: Learn (Just Enough) to Make (Just About) Anything by David Lang. Make: magazine publishes a lot of maker guides and resources. I enjoyed David Lang’s story of becoming a maker. Towards the end it got to be more about the business options, which is not as interesting to me. However, reading about how he found his way to a community, knowledge, and a new mindset about making was interesting.

Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 10.52.45 PMThe Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney. The cover intrigued me and there was a positive comment on the back from Jami Attenberg, author of The Middlesteins, which I really liked. This was an interesting story of a family of four grown siblings. A good page turned where I wanted to know what happened. A neat, though not necessarily predictable, ending.

Screen Shot 2016-07-31 at 10.34.04 PMAnd, I have been trying  to get through Gilead by Marilynne Robinson. The writing is lovely, and I am finding lots to ponder in the narrative. Yet, I can neither make progress nor keep reading for any length of time. Ugh!

I have a few other school/education titles in the cue along with books that I will be teaching next year. However, I think that I can give myself another week to read non-school books. I need to find a title or two that I can’t put down. Has anyone read Homegoing by Yaa Giasi, or Two Years, Eight Months, and Twenty-Eight Nights by Salman Rushdie or H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald?

 

Any other suggestions?

Comments
  1. dogtrax says:

    What about Launch by John Spencer and Aj Juliani. Good stuff.
    I read March 2, and it was great! (after I read March 1, of course)
    I am reading the new Dave Eggers’ book — Heroes of the Frontier — another fine story by Eggers (So far .. not far into the story)
    And finishing up Terry Pratchett’s Slip of the Keyboard — non-fiction writing about being a writer, told in Pratchett’s wonderful voice.
    Hey — are you in the CLMOOC Goodreads?
    Kevin

    • mseiteljorg says:

      Kevin,
      Thanks for your suggestions; I’ll look into them. My office at school is sort of in the library, and so I am constantly taking out books that I see in passing. Periodically I have to just return a bunch even if I have not read them, just to give others a chance at them. I’m planning to read March 2 and 3 for sure, and I just requested membership in the goodreads group.

Leave a Reply

