CLMOOC 2016

Posted: June 21, 2016 in clmooc
Tags: , , ,
CLMOOC postcard from Karen

CLMOOC postcard from Karen

So, I’ve been thinking about the new summer of CLMOOC.

I signed up for the postcard swap and got my postcard in the mail the other day. I a few photos and am ready to make some postcard too. I know I’m a little late on the postcards, but I’m going to combine the postcard making with my taxonomy project (where I make sets of things). I’ve got some ideas to combine my images with some blackout poetry perhaps. Lots of ideas swirling around in my head during a week where I have a and a week-long, all-day class, so it’s weekend making for me.

Anyway, I’m excited for the rest of CLMOOC to start on July 10th. (The FAQs page gives some good background on the experience, which I find a little hard to explain.) The emphasis on making and connecting that with really abstract ideas about place and community really spoke to me. I spent hours both thinking about the ideas and making things that related. Not all of the things I made were successful in terms of projects, but spending time thinking about making something to speak to these larger ideas was a great exercise. It made my brain hurt, in a good way.

Reflecting back on it, I think that the work I did on CLMOOC put me in a different mindset when the school year began. It meant that I had been thinking, making, and writing about some big issues over the summer. It was like cross training. I came back to my usual topics in technology with renewed energy, excited, and ready to think differently.

Win, win, win!

Comments
  1. dogtrax says:

    Sorry I missed this earlier, but when you write “Reflecting back on it, I think that the work I did on CLMOOC put me in a different mindset when the school year began,” I think, that’s why the CLMOOC exists.
    Kevin

    • mseiteljorg says:

      Kevin,
      I’m so glad a colleague introduced me to CLMOOC last year. I have been trying to get others involved.
      I think the combination of serious thinking around fairly abstract ideas and the making of something concrete was the key. It provided some context around which to make things. I think I then began the school year in a more creative and generative frame of mind AND was more able to maintain it. I saw/found/had practiced ways to connect my art/craft/maker projects and my academic work in the classroom.

Leave a Reply

