Taxonomy Project-Second set of objects

Posted: September 28, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags:

So, I’m still thinking about the taxonomy project that my colleague talked about at a faculty meeting. I know, still thinking about something from a faculty meeting is pretty big.

Screen Shot 2015-09-25 at 9.16.13 AMAnyway, after my first set of things (painted horse shoe crab shells) I thought about keeping with the idea of altering found objects. Because I am not really a good enough artist to be able to create from scratch quickly enough to maintain this project, and I have a day job, altering found objects seemed like a good way to keep with the creative, multiples, and quickness aspects of the project while giving myself a break on some of the technical art skills. I took a quick look around my house and thought about what objects were around and staring me in the face. All these bread bag tags stared back at me, or at least I thought they did.

I started thinking about what to do with all of these little, multi-colored pieces. However, what came to mind was tiny paintings on them. Too much skill required for that. Turning them into something besides the equivalent of a macaroni necklace wasn’t very inspiring either. I still think there is an idea to be had with these things, but I have put them aside for the moment.

Instead I turned to paper and collage. Working with one Sunday edition of the New York Times and the Financial Times and their respective Sunday magazines, I made small collages or back out poetry with words and images. Each finished little image has words or images from only one section of the paper. I focused on the Magazine and Arts & Leisure sections for the most parts. Here are a number of images. Each one is 5 3/4 x 8 1/2 inches, because that is the size of the paper in the little sketch book I found in my art closet.

FT Magazine

FT Magazine

I love the word “flâneur”. The text is from an Hermès ad, the sheep are from an ad for wool something.

Arts & Leisure

Arts & Leisure

These three images are all collections of image bits from the New York Times T Magazine, September 13th, 2015 edition. I just kept cutting out rectangles until I didn’t want any more and then grouped them. #1 consists of all home images from one story. I realized I had a lot of white images and so sewed a piece of vellum that I painted with watercolor as a background for those. The final set is “this and that.”

 

NYTimes Magazine #1

NYTimes Magazine #1

NYTimes Magazine #2

NYTimes Magazine #2

NYTimes Magazine #3

NYTimes Magazine #3

Finally, I tried a black out poetry idea, but with an image blacking out the words rather than marker. I chose the words I wanted to keep, made a template from which to cut any other image, and looked around. They don’t really need a wider audience at this point, but once there are more, maybe.

One of the things I like about this project is the fact that there are constraints which provide some structure. Not everything is an option, which is fine. If I stick with the newspaper as a starting place, I may use the crossword puzzles next or do more with blackout poetry, always a favorite of mine.

Leave a Reply

