Summer Reading

Posted: August 30, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

So, I’ve been thinking about summer reading. I set myself a goal of 12 books this summer, I think. I can’t find the paper with my various goals on it…

I made it.

I thought I would just share what I read. Here they are,  in the order in which I read them.

Sweetness in the Bottom of the Pie (Flavia de Luce #1) by Alan Bradley

The Crossover by Kwamé Alexander. This is the 2015 Newbery Award winner and I plan to use it in my YA literature class. Told in verse.

Anagrams by Lorrie Moore

Who Will Run the Frog Hospital by Lorrie Moore.

Circus Mirandus by Cassie Beasley

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

The Selected Works of T. S. Spivit by Reif Larson

Still Life with Bread Crumbs by Anna Quindlen

The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach

The Boy Who Lost Fairyland by Catherynne Valente

Paper Towns by John Green

Life of Pi by Yann Martel. Man Booker Prize winner 2002.

Fishing in the Sloe-Black River by Colum McCann

My favorite reads of the summer were Everything I Never Told You and The Art of Fielding, no question. (Life of Pi was a reread, but it was probably next.) A number of the YA books I read were only ok, with the notable exception of The Crossover, which was excellent.

In addition, I am part way through The Good Lord Bird by James McBride which I picked up after rereading The Color of Water in the spring. Also, I read part of The Curiosities: A Collection of Stories by Maggie Stiefvater , Brenna Yovanoff, and Tessa Gratton. I got it from a library while on vacation and didn’t have time to read it all before I had to return it, but I will be getting back to it.

I still have a few calling to me. They are getting kind of loud and pushy, but the new course I am teaching is also calling, and it sounds more nervous, like I might really need to pay some attention or things could get ugly fast.

With official faculty meetings starting tomorrow, it’s time to admit I will have to return The Luminaries  by Eleanor Catton, My Name is Red by Orphan Pamuk, and H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald to the library unread.

Well, maybe I’ll renew one of them another time…

So, what was your favorite summer read?

Leave a Reply

