Make Cycle 2-Remediation of text

Posted: August 12, 2015 in clmooc
Tags: , ,

So, I can’t stop thinking about all the possibilities for remediating. I’ve loved seeing the work of others participating in CLMOOC. I have always been interested in taking a particular art form and applying it to somewhere else. .

I created some work like this many moons ago when I had hobbies. (Notice I even had hobbies plural then.) An idea that I’ve been tossing around more recently is that of starting from text, a favorite sentence in a book, a blackout poem, and using that as the inspiration for a work in another format. (Well, it turns out I had also been thinking about this idea way back when I had hobbies. I was doing some long overdue clean up and organizing of my art supplies and found lots of other favorite sentences clipped to linoleum prints and other patterned this and that.  Surely it was all part of some larger plan once upon a time. Sigh.)

So, I’m at it again, it turns out. Here are some sentences from the marvelous book The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of her Own Making by Catherine M. Valente that I have saved recently.

Hats change everything. September knew this with all her being, deep in they place where she knew her own name, that her mother would still love her even thought she hadn’t waved goodbye. For one day, her father had put on a hat with golden things on it and suddenly he hadn’t been her father anymore, he had been a soldier, and he had left. Hats have power. Hats can change you into someone else. ~p26

I love hats personally, so that one speaks to me for lots of reasons.

“This is for washing your wishes, September,” said Lye. . . “For the wishes of one’s old life wither and shrivel like old leaves if they are not replaced with new wishes when the world changes. And the world always changes. Wishes  get slimy, and their colors fade, and soon they are just mud, like all the rest of the mud, and not wishes at all, but regrets. The trouble is, not everyone can tell when they ought to launder their wishes. Even when one finds oneself in Fairlyand and not at home at all, it is not always so easy to remember to catch the world in its changing and change with it.  ~p61

This one resonates with me in terms of change and adaptation, key factors for teachers. I have mentioned it is a post before this one, that’s how much I like it. Finally, this one (which I also mentioned before)…

“You know my… my wrench?”

“Of course I know it. It was not a wrench when we were last acquainted, but one’s friends may change clothes and still one knows them.” ~p117

With this final quote, I was thinking about change and being recognizable. So here’s my math equation for the image I want to create:

   1 René Magritte’s painting

   1 image of a wrench

+ 1 oval shaped frame/matte (like the kind around old-fashioned portraits)

____________________________________________________

 Wendy’s “ceçi n’est pas un wrench” image.

 

It would be better as a painting rather than a description or math problem, but only if I were a painter. Alas, I am not, so enjoy that description while I learn to paint.

Then I also thought about how to highlight the idea of change by combining an image of a wrench with that of a needle (the form the wrench took ‘when we were last acquainted’). My first attempt involved printing images of a needle and a wrench on vellum, slicing each into strips, and then weaving the two together. When you see it straight on it’s a little blah, but if you are looking form the side, it’s pretty cool.

 

 
Of course, I have big plans to try out other options, but I though I better  get something out here while I learn to paints, try out a dozen more ways to make this idea come to life, and then in the mean time do my job and get ready for the new classes I will be teaching in the comings year.

Ideas, ideas, ideas.

Comments
  1. dogtrax says:

    I love that book and its sequel … Have not read the third one ..

  2. mseiteljorg says:

    I loved the book as well. Didn’t love the second one as much, but liked the third one better I think. Just read the fourth, which was ok. I’m planning to use the first one in my YA literature class with 12th graders. Thoughts on that?

Leave a Reply

