Make Cycle 3 #CLMOOC

Posted: July 7, 2015 in clmooc
Tags: ,

So, I’ve been thinking about the topic for this make cycle. Or rather, I’ve been thinking about what the topic would be once announced. 

I have been really enjoying the various Make tasks. So I’ve been wondering if the topic for this week would be something that I could do from afar. Since I’m on vacation I didn’t want to have my computer with me, because that says work, work email, work documents, etc. in a way the my phone and iPad don’t. I couldn’t figure out a way to bring a lot of craft supplies and half finished projects to a multi family gathering, although I may have seriously considered it.

So when the email arrived, I was at first thinking, I’ll have to sit this one out.  Once I am back home, I may give some thought to remaking a game that I played a lot as a kid, but I have never been a big game player or at least the kind of game that has levels and screens.  I did a lot of puzzles, over and over puzzles. And, I played card games with my family and grandparents: gin rummy, solitaire, and hearts. I realize this makes me sound like I might in fact be a grandparent, but I am not. The other game I played was Life. I will do some thinking about how to remake that game later, but  while I’m out of town with limited supplies, I thought I would share something that could be a game.

After seeing something similar online, my daughter made me a birthday card that has become  a fun holiday game. The card has a picture of a person wearing a skirt. But the shape of the skirt is cut out. When you hold the card up the view becomes that pattern of the skirt. 

 As we drove to our vacation and as we spend time with family, I am taking pictures through my card, turning my card into a game. 

Here’s my first try. 

  
And here are a few more attempts. 

   
    

  
 I think the game I’m playing is about incorporating landscape into who we are, about having the world around us not just impact what we wear (mittens when it’s cold, bathing suits for swimming) but blurring the line between ourselves and our surroundings in creative ways. 

This is level 1.  Play along with the image my daughter made, or make your own.

Level 2 has more than one cut out. 

Who is playing? 

Comments
  1. Susan says:

    Oh my gosh, this is so fun! I want to do it. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Christina says:

    I also love this! What fun … puppetry even. Excellent game. I do want to play! More soon.

  3. dogtrax says:

    Whoah .. I just saw your post on G+ and love this idea …

  4. karen says:

    This is fantastic. Would you (or could I) submit it to DS106 as a Daily Create? It’s so perfect for that! http://tdc.ds106.us/

  5. mseiteljorg says:

    Thanks everyone. I am sorry for my late responses. I’m glad you all enjoyed the game. I’m ready to level up and have asked my daughter to make me another card. This one is going to have boots, bag, and hat spaces. When I suggested this, she said, “oh, so accessories. I can do that.” I’m excited to see how it changes when there are multiple spaces to fill.

  6. dogtrax says:

    You have me inspired .. working on something similar …

  7. My version here.https://plus.google.com/115526583662750901340/posts/UqE1jo9b9UD
    I’m thinking of:
    – Seeing Spaces (see http://s3.amazonaws.com/worrydream.com/SeeingSpaces/SeeingSpaces.jpg shared on Twitter by Maha Bali)
    – framing new ideas
    – see more than just the words typed
    – opening to new worlds
    – connecting to the environment via digital ways

    • mseiteljorg says:

      Wendy,
      I really like the twist you have taken on the hole in the image. It adds a lot of other options in terms of how to think about the relationship between the image and the background/surroundings. Thanks for reading and commenting.

    • mseiteljorg says:

      Kevin,
      I like your images as well. So much to consider on this one. Thanks for sharing!

      I am working on some ideas in relation to this that are somewhat ‘school related’. More soon, I hope.

Leave a Reply

