Make Cycle 2-ReMediation of Chickens

Posted: July 2, 2015 in clmooc
Tags: ,

So, I’ve been thinking about this challenge all week. I’ve been busy with a conference (writing about that shortly), and administrative team meetings. Not being able to spend time planning my projects has been making me crazy. I have a bunch of ideas, but want to get something going here before I am off for some family time.

Chickens.

I’m a fan. My son’s school has chickens and sells the eggs. I would love to have chickens at our house, but I would also love to have a kitchen from any of the past 3 or 4 decades, and perhaps green eyes. None of those is happening any time soon. So, chickens as art.

This past January we, my family not my class, went to the Pennsylvania Farm Show. If you are available and live near Harrisburg, PA, or even if you don’t live that close by, you should go sometime. There were a lot of chickens. All sorts of chickens, ducks, geese, and turkeys. Since I like the idea of taking up close, portrait type photographs of them, I have a few images. If I were at all good at better at photo editing, I would remove the bars on the pictures, but I’ll save that for another time. You get the idea.

 

IMG_4127IMG_4143

 

I was also thinking about other ways to enjoy chicken imagery. So, I laser cut a chicken shape out of red acrylic and made it into a pendant.

Photo on 7-2-15 at 3.49 PM

My other bird-based project, although not necessarily chicken-based, was a handbag with feathers and lights. The feathers piece is actually a place mat/charger that I attached to the wool handbag. I based the shape of the bag on the bag in the picture on the back cover of The Art of Tinkering by the amazing folks at the Tinkering Studio at the Exploratorium in San Fransisco.

IMG_4542

 

On the curved, lower edge of the bag are lights, kind of like low-rider running lights. It could use some support to keep its shape better, and it appears to be molting, but a conversation starter for sure.

IMG_4543

 

So, would this be chicken remediation?

Leave a Reply

