Untroductions

Posted: June 25, 2015 in clmooc
Tags: , ,

So, I’ve been thinking about introductions and untroductions. I am participating in CLMOOC this summer (Connected learning massive, open, online COLLABORATION). The time is always right to join.

Our first make cycle was an introduction of sorts. No surprise. However, the request was to think a little beyond who am I?

  • what is the typical introduction script?
  • how can we unmake that?
  • who gets invited
  • do we need an invitation anyway

I have been doing some work with blackout poetry, so that’s where I started. Given the conversation about the “set script” of an introduction, I thought taking the set words of the email describing the tasks, yet trying to be creative within that structure was an interesting un-making or re-mixing.

Here is the result:

I like the final video, but do you learn much about me? What can you say having met me in this way?

Here’s another option. I also recently read Lorrie Morre’s novel Anagrams, which included this wonderful sentence:

Meaning, if it existed at all, was unstable and could not survive the slightest reshuffling of letters.

So I then took the subject line of the email about the first make cycle (CLMOOC Make Cycle #1: Unmake an Introduction) and used it for the raw material of my anagrams. I tweeted this image.

Screen Shot 2015-06-24 at 3.19.55 PM

Another meeting, any more information? I don’t think any of my phrases are particularly introductory. They tell you nothing about me.

Finally, I tweeted this in response to the #donowimge prompt.

So what do all three of these unmade introductions tell you about me?

  • Do I like poetry or crossing things out?
  • Do I not like to show my face?
  • Do I like verbs? to make trouble?
  • Do I spend my time on anagrams or crossword puzzles?
  • Is Lorrie Moore my favorite author?
  • Do I like red shoes?
  • Am I opposed to open toed shoes? heels?

Hardly anything on that list is true. However, if you look at all three introductions together, maybe you start to get a picture. There’s some creativity there, some interest in books, shoes, maybe some humor or at least not taking things too seriously.

I got to thinking, how often do I feel an introduction really tells anything about me that is important anyway? These options really scream “NOTHING!!” but do standard introductions say very little in more socially acceptable ways? Maybe the important part of an introduction of any kind is the chance to be seen, the potential to interact.

Comments
  1. Great point: “Maybe the important part of an introduction of any kind is the chance to be seen, the potential to interact.” Love the ideas in #clmooc

    Such a great point that I made a poster of it: https://farm1.staticflickr.com/271/19215337891_37b2f8a65a_b.jpg

  2. margaretsmn says:

    The chance to be seen, whether real or virtual, seems to inspire many of us to try creative things. Who will react? Do they really see me?
    Your black out poetry video was intriguing. How long that must’ve taken to do! Another thing I find myself doing is getting sucked in to the making. I just spent about an hour making a slide to add to Sheri Edwards’ six word slide show. Why did I do that? I don’t know, but getting absorbed into making something new fascinates me.

  3. Lots to think about here, not least of which is how the ripples spread and spread and morph as they go. I found Sheri’s ripple, followed it but was the message I received from your post the same as what she received?

  4. mseiteljorg says:

    Sheri, Margaret, and Susan,
    Thank you all for your thoughtful comments. It’s so interesting to see where an idea that one puts out goes when taken by someone else.
    Sheri, I loved seeing your poster.
    And, Margaret, I spent quite a while planning my poem and making the video–all of which I totally enjoyed. I am finding the idea of making things *that others will see* very inspiring. Although I am a somewhat crafty person, the knowledge that there is an audience for what I am making is certainly motivating.
    Susan, I think your idea of ripples and morphing is a great idea for ‘a make’. What would something based on that idea look like….
    Thanks again, ladies.

Leave a Reply

