Summer Learning Hashtag

Posted: June 22, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

So, I’ve been thinking about and participating in conversations on Twitter as the school year has wound down. A few weeks ago I saw a tweet about having a school hashtag for students to share learning over the summer. I thought, what about teachers?

I tweeted that to a few colleagues and got a couple of takers. Here’s my first tweet:

 

I’m hoping that a few more people join in. I even sent an email to all the colleagues at my school hoping to get some more participation.

Hi everyone,

A few of colleagues have been tweeting summer learning with the hashtag #ShipleySummer. If you read something, see something, learn something, feel free to join in the tweeting. Also, search the hashtag or add it as a column on tweetdeck or hootsuite. Then, you can see what your colleagues are up to and take advantage of what they are learning. 

And, if you aren’t on the Twitter bandwagon yet and this has made you curious, I’m available to introduce you.

Happy summer and happy tweeting,

Wendy

At the end of the month I’m going to send a collection of the things shared on the hashtag in the hopes of encouraging more participation. So far, there are a few enthusiastic tweeters, but I’m sure there are other colleagues out there learning.

Has anyone else tried something similar?

 

Leave a Reply

