Red Pants Team

Posted: November 19, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

So, I’ve been thinking about my tech coaching team.

We are a new team. This is only the third year that the team has consisted of tech coaches rather than computer teachers. So, I’m considering that year our beginning. Plus, that was the year I joined the group.

Anyway, our group started with me being both new to the group and a new leader, one of the other two members being new as well, and with a very large and imposing task (1:1 preparation). We had to come together quickly because we had shared work to do. Sometimes it seemed like our little team was always playing away games, somewhat hostile spectators, a lot of regrouping, a lot of going back to the drawing board. It was a “character building” season. (I personally hate that expression, but you get the idea.)

And then, part way through that first year, there was a shift. We started feeling like maybe we were the home team after all. We won a few games. We found a grove. The next year, we had to start our work again in some ways, but we were a comfortable team.

Trial by fire is either effective at forging a group or blowing them apart. The fire made us a group and we had a good thing going.

After two years, one of the team members went on to another school. We are new, again. We are trying to become a team, but are not in such pressure filled situation, which is nice. I was thinking about how our team spirit and connection was coming the other day. Then, we all arrived to our meeting and I tweeted this:

I know it’s hardly a sign from above, but I thought it couldn’t be bad.

So, I will now refer to us as the red pants team. We have our uniform, we are building our shared identity, and we plan to win some games.

Comments
  1. Lisa C. says:

    Love this!

  2. mseiteljorg says:

    Thanks, Lisa.
    I’m hoping that our “1:1 What’s Working” gang will also come together as a group. I’m prepared to offer food and prizes.

Leave a Reply

