Conversations Update

Posted: November 28, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

So, I’ve been thinking more about having more individual conversations with my students. And so I told them.

speechThis morning I was updating my class on a few things at the beginning of the day, typical stuff. I also explained, like I did in my last post, that I had so enjoyed talking with a 5th grader from another class and it made me think I would love to get a chance to talk with each of my own 5th graders. I have to admit, I wasn’t expecting much of a response one way or the other.

But, right away a few kids perked up.

  • Can we talk about white boards? I am really interested in them right now. (Ok, something else for me to brush up on.)
  • Does it have to be about school? (No.)
  • This is going to be so fun.

So, I kept going with some logistical options: lunch in the room, before classrooms are open in the morning (Now that it is colder, rather than outdoor play, students have to wait in the lunch room. Not as appealing as the playground.), recess if anyone is interested. I also have a few students who are not able to participate in PE at the moment for various reasons. So, I might grab them during that time.

Anyway, I’m looking forward to chatting with my students and am glad to know that at least some of them are also interested. Now, to think about how not to make it seem like an interview. I am sure with some students it will just become a real conversation. With others it will be harder. I think I’ll start with some of the easy chatters first to warm up.

I can’t wait to hear what they have to say.

(Photo by Timothy Morgan used under creative commons license.)

Comments
  1. Maggie says:

    Do you anticipate these to be conversations that continue during the year, or single session for each of your students, or a combination thereof? Will you be able to sustain it if there is interest? I bet the kids will love it.

    • mseiteljorg says:

      Maggie,
      There you go being all practical. I have made a schedule and students are signing up now. I think I can get in 1 chat with each student before winter break. Then, if I get in 1 or 2 more times in the spring, I think I will consider it a victory. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

