What’s a good average?

Posted: November 16, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

So, I’ve been thinking about probability, the probability of getting selected for things.

53/365 - May 11, 2008 - Above AverageLast week I heard back from 2 different things I “tried out for.” First, I found out that I did not get picked to be part of Seth Godin’s “Medicine Ball Sessions.” This was not a big shocker as it was a long shot for many reasons. My super-supportive husband, upon being emailed this information, replied, “Seth is dead to me. We’ll drown our sorrows in crafts.” (We were going to a craft show that weekend. So nice. And, side note, I bought a great hat at the craft show. Sorrows officially drowned.) Then, on Sunday I heard that a proposal that I worked on with 2 other teachers did get accepted for EduCon, which is very exciting and a little nerve-wracking at this point.

But this got me thinking about averages. Because it’s all about perspective here. If I think about it as a test average then 1 out of 2 is not so great, to put it mildly. However, if I change my perspective to batting averages, then I’m batting .500, which is quite a different story. So, I’m choosing to go with batting averages on this one. I like the sound of it a whole lot better.

Sometimes is all in how you sell it, even if you’re just selling it to yourself.

 

(Photo by meddygarnet used under creative commons license)

Leave a Reply

