It’s worth a shot

Posted: November 8, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

So, I’ve been thinking about Seth Godin. I haven’t been thinking about him personally, but his ideas and writing.

I have read several of his books (Tribes, Linchpin,Poke the Box) and read his blog sometimes. Someone mentioned a recent post of his on Twitter and once I read one, I started scrolling back and read a few more, including one announcing a 3 day workshop he is having. I read the post, followed the link, and applied. We’ll see what happens.

One of the things that I appreciated about his explanation of the event was the value he put on being face to face with people, even if they had already read his books and were familiar with many of his ideas. I am finding this to be true in some ways as well. For example even though I participate in a many virtual communities and think Twitter is super fantastic for teachers, I have really valued attending conference recently. I have attended a number of unconferences or edcamps as well as EduCon and ISTE. Sometimes I get to meet people with whom I have interacted digitally and sometimes I meet new people, but in both cases those interaction, in real-time, were really worthwhile.

Bulls-eye
So, I don’t honestly expect to be chosen for this 3 day event. It’s not aimed at educators, and I would need a significant break on the cost, but I can’t win if I don’t play.

(photo by Incase used under creative commons license)

Leave a Reply

