First Day of School 2011

Posted: September 7, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

So, I’ve been thinking about how I haven’t posted anything here in a really long time. I’ll try to write about that later. But, today was the first day of school. Besides going over the boring basic stuff, we made labels for our cubbies, listened to this Yoyo Ma tune for a little dancing, and watched two video clips.

One clip was Daniel Pink’s book trailer for Drive. I showed it last year too. This will connect to our “5E Day” celebration on a week from Friday. I wrote all about it last year. It worked out so well, I’m doing it again.

The new clip was from the group Improv Everywhere. Here is how they describe themselves of their website:

Improv Everywhere is a New York City-based prank collective that causes scenes of chaos and joy in public places. Created in August of 2001 by Charlie Todd, Improv Everywhere has executed over 100 missions involving tens of thousands of undercover agents.

The clip we watched was their latest mission called “Say Something Nice.” (Click and watch it quick, quick and then come back and read about what I did. It’s short.) I showed the clip and then suggested that we should try to do this regularly, in a way that would work for school.

So, I made a bucket with a “say something nice” label on it. I put some pieces of paper there and pencils. All colleagues are welcome to add things to the bucket over the course of the week. On Friday we will pull them out and read them.

I feel like standing at the podium makes it more official, but it is a hassle to drag one in here every week. I think a music stand will do the trick. My plan is to have students come up, pull a random “something nice” out of the bucket and read it. I think it will be a great way to end the week. Maybe it should be the first thing on Monday instead?

What do you think? Interesting idea? Silly cutesy idea? Monday? Friday?

Comments
  1. Is this like the Positive Gossip (PoGo) box we had when I was a TA at a summer pre-college program? You’d put a note in the box when you wanted to thank someone publicly or just say something nice about someone, then the notes would be distributed at the end of the week.

    • mseiteljorg says:

      Sort of like that. It can be more general too. I’m not planning on distributing the notes physically though. We will read them aloud and then maybe post them on a bulletin board or recycle them.

      Thanks for commenting.

  2. Jenny says:

    Love love LOVE the idea. Wish I had a classroom to do it in!! (But not really. The having a classroom part, I mean.)

  3. how wonderful to know this is here. thank you so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

