Think about it Thursday

Posted: April 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

So, I’ve been thinking about ePortfolios some more. I wrote about using them for conferences and how useful it was for all parties. That’s the good part. The not as good part is the infrequency, in my opinion, with which we contribute to them.

I want my students to get into a real habit of reflection. (I think we’ve been over the fact that I make big plans, but if you missed it, here is more proof.) Every 3-4 weeks is just not enough to make a habit.

So, here are my thoughts:

  • It doesn’t have to be a major deal every time we add something.
  • Not all additions should be structured by me.
  • I need to find a regular time that we can dedicate to this project.
  • Format is flexible—text, podcast, maybe even image.

As it turns out we have a 20 minute block of time on Thursdays that is a challenge to use effectively.
New Surface
So, here’s the plan:

“Think-about-it-Thursday” will be a new feature in the week. We have 20 minutes after lunch before heading to Art each Thursday. So, during that time, students will have the option to reflect on some part of their learning. They will need to mix it up, subject-wise and can choose from a variety of formats. The goal is short and sweet.

I’ll keep you posted.

(And, before I could even post this, I managed not to make “Think-about-it-Thursday” happen, more than once. The amount of time I have is just so short that I’m not sure I can make it work. That new surface is pretty slippery.)

(Photo by Rockman of Zymurgy used under Creative Commons license)

Comments
  1. Maureen Devlin says:

    I like this post. As I think of my “Google present.” journals for next year, I think I’ll have some “prompt” nights, and some free thinking/posting/podcasting/videotaping nights. Thanks for your thoughts.

  2. JoAnnJ68 says:

    I like the idea and you’re going about it in the right way. You just have to structure it to continually have that pocket of time. I know easier said than done but possibly if you were deliberate about it in planning your day you could make it happen.
    Good luck, your reasoning is sound.

    • mseiteljorg says:

      JoAnn,
      I thought by making that Thursday time part of my plan it would work, but with moving between lunch and the classroom and then getting to Art, the time shrinks so quickly. I know it has to have a dedicated time to make it a habit. I’ll keep at it.

  3. whatedsaid says:

    How about instead of once a week, reflecting for a few minutes at the end of each learning experience? It makes the reflection meaningful and you could use a thinking routine like ‘ connect, extend, challenge’ which helps them make connections between new and known, but also lets you see where to go next. A pen and paper is quicker and they could combine these into a bigger reflection on their wiki less frequently.

    • mseiteljorg says:

      I think this might be a good way to go. If we collect ‘tid-bits’ of reflection more frequently it also might mean that we could sit down and add to the wikis more quickly with notes already completed.

      Thanks for the idea. I’ll throw it in my head and let it rumble around in there.

Leave a Reply

