Snow Day Antics

Posted: February 7, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

So, I’ve been thinking about the snow day we had yesterday several weeks ago now. We even got the call pretty early in the evening so it was extra-super-duper nice. I put away all school stuff  and read a book.

On the actual snow day itself I was busy with my personal kids who also had the day off. They are in Kindergarten and 2nd grade and so there was a lot of LEGO, snow, popcorn making, and there might even have been a little cartoon watching. The other thing I did was meet with a colleague about 21st century learning and Project Based Learning. I know, it was a snow day, what was going on?

But the thing is, we had planned to meet at school and are working on planning a meeting for a teacher group for our school, so we had some things we needed to do. Since I was at home with my kids, she came over to my house during “quiet time” (which is what “nap time” has become now that there is very little napping going on. I really recommend this. Just because no one is napping doesn’t mean there is no need for a little time in our rooms). So, my colleague and I met.

She teaches in another division and I have only really gotten to know her very well this year. We talked about a project she already does in her class and brainstormed ways it could go from a really good unit to a great one. We talked about what might be added/changed this year and what might be another year out. It sounds great. I want to take the class.

Why am I writing about this? Because it’s so energizing to brainstorm and talk with other interested educators. I mean, it wasn’t even my unit we were talking about or anything I will ever be teaching in 5th grade, but I thought it was exciting. It’s common knowledge that I have been uncool for decades, but I know I wasn’t the only one who thought it was a worthwhile discussion.

In case this isn’t how I manage to spend any additional snow day we get (and it hasn’t been), I’m going to try to find ways to have more discussions like the one I had that snow day, even if they have to happen on a non-snowday. There are couches, snacks, and free periods at school too. All I need to do is walk away from the pile of papers on my desk and grab a colleague.

 

Comments
  1. hadleyjf says:

    I homeschooled our 4 children for 16 years before heading back into the classroom. We had “quiet time” every day. Our 27 yr. old says that Creativity = Quiet Time plus Crayons. I do think that most of our students are so programmed that they have little time for the kind of boredom that leads to creativity.

    And most teachers need the quiet of a snow day to dream and plan together.

    Great to see you at Educon!

    Hadley

    • mseiteljorg says:

      Hadley,
      Thanks for the comment. I didn’t know you homeschooled your kids. My first teaching position was being a homeschool teacher for a 4th grader (not mine). I taught her for 3 years. She is now through both college and grad school.

      I love to listen to what my kids do during quiet time, since they still talk through what they are doing. It’s a great window into what is going on in their heads.

      It’s so funny that we always run into each other at conferences. Always good to see you.

Leave a Reply

