EduCon, the morning after

Posted: February 1, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

So, I’ve been thinking about Educon, or trying to think about it anyway.

I saw this tweet on Monday morning:

kjarrett (@kjarrett)
1/31/11 10:59 AM
Back at school. Doing everything the way I always have. Dealing with massive guilt as a result. #educonshame

When I saw it, it was already a retweet, and I retweeted it as well.

But the thing is, I’m not really feeling bad about not making huge changes in what I do at school right away. First of all, there are plenty of things I do that while they could use tweaking, don’t need massive overhaul, and second of all, I am a thinker. Ok, that might sound all serious, but what I mean by that is that I like to think and rethink, plan and replan, talk and talk some more before I go and make a big change.

This may make it sound like I therefore don’t change what I do much. Actually, I do change things up a lot and with reasonable frequency. Once I’ve debated, maybe just with myself (I try to do that in my head not out loud), I’m totally willing to leap in and make a change on a random Tuesday. I totally support change and the idea that classrooms are vital places.

Now, a few days after Educon, I have lots of ideas in my head that are still in the swirling around phase. And that’s ok. I truly believe in the power of that part of the process. I consciously throw stuff in the back of my head just to let it swirl around in there for a while until I’ve smoothed it out a bit and am ready to make it into something. It’s like those rock tumblers that were big for a while. You know, you put in rocks, tumbled them around for days, and then hoped for a shiny treasure among the group.

I’m an excellent collector and so part of the process of change is tumbling those ideas to see which ones turn into pretty stones ready to be used in some great project and which ones should get tossed or set aside for another time. I know I work this way, always have, even before I realized it. And, I know it works for me.

So, while I share @kjarrett’s view that I’m still doing things the same way, I’m not really feeling any shame about it. I don’t think it will do my students any good for me to leap at change for the sake of change. It won’t do them any good for me not to at least look before I leap, taking them with me. Plus, I know that there are at least a couple of good rocks tumbling around that are on their way to being nice and shiny. All I have to do it keep them tumbling.

Leave a Reply

