The Power of Discovery

Posted: December 19, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

So, I’ve been thinking about how my students learn things–things that I’ve been trying to teach them, repeatedly.

The other day we were doing some writing connected to our “This I Believe” study. (See here and here for more details.) As usual, we had talked about the assignment. Students had worked on a planning sheet. I had read and commented on each plan. And, I had made a few additional comments and specified my directions, again.

And so we began. People were writing. I was writing. (My essay is called “I Believe in Lists”, FYI) It was pretty quiet for a group of 10 and 11 year olds. At some point I mentioned that this was best set of planning sheet I had seen this year. Then all of a sudden, a student says, “You know this really easy to write. I feel like I can just write. It’s much easier when you have a good plan.”

And another says, “I have so much to write. I’m not even using all my ideas on my plan because I’m thinking of new ones.”

Agreement all around.

Now, I am fairly confident that I have said something to this effect at least 100 times so far this year. But, it wasn’t until my students “discovered” it for themselves that it registered.

Ok, I can accept that. In fact, I can celebrate that.

Leave a Reply

