5E Day, Update

Posted: December 7, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

So, I’ve been thinking about our class climate. In the beginning of the year I had what I called “5E Day” with my class, which was loosely based on George Couros’ Identity day. (Read about it here and about its impact here.)

One of the comments to my description of the resulting class tone wondered if we would need “booster shots” or any sort of redo. So far, I have to say that I think my class this year is a very supportive and cohesive group. Yet, I felt like this idea of a periodic booster might be worth remembering. And now I think I have a booster activity.

We are switching the book we read before winter break this year and it turns out that my new plan is in many ways a 5E Day booster. So here’s the plan:

  • We have listened to, read, and discussed in some detail both Martin Luther King’s “I Have a Dream” speech and President Kennedy’s “Inaugural Address” (ask not what your country can do for you).
  • We have been reading and listening to a selection of “This I Believe” podcasts from NPR (chosen by me with a wide variety of themes that are not too heavy).
  • We have been collecting “I believe. . .” statements in a jar in the room.
  • We are about to write a “This I Believe” essay as a book character.
  • I will collect, write-up, and the put into wordle our 5E beliefs.
  • I will make a podcast or Animoto video of our beliefs before winter break, no promises on this one, but it would be super.
  • Everyone, me included, will write a “This I Believe” essay (or poem or song) and create a podcast.
  • We will all listen to or read each other’s essays.
  • And, we’ve also read some short pieces that are somewhat related and totally entertaining.

I have to say I did not set out to create a 5E Day booster unit. I set out to plan a new unit that had some good pieces of what I have done in the past (King and Kennedy’s speeches) and some things I have been meaning to do (“This I Believe” essays). But, oh happy day, I have a feeling it’s going to be both a decent unit and act as a 5E Day refresher.

How many days are there until break?

Comments
  1. Dear Wendy,
    I love how you keep your classroom climate updated and interactive. You seem very flexible and open to new ideas and trying new things. I am sure the stuents in your class feel free to take risks because you are modeling new things each day. You find something that “inspires” you and it in turn “inspires” them. Clearly, your classroom is fun and alive.

    • mseiteljorg says:

      Nooha,
      I am glad you see it that way!

      I do love a good risk in the classroom. I’m not sure why. I don’t really consider myself a risk-taker. However, I am also an adventurous cook; much to my husband’s dismay I consider it a great time to try a new recipe when guests are coming over to eat. And, come to think of it, I am not at all opposed to a less-than-safe shoe choice. Maybe I’m more of a risk-taker than I thought.

Leave a Reply

