New Seating Arrangement Update 1

Posted: September 14, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

So, I’ve been thinking about how my new furniture is working out. One of my big plans for this year was to make my room more flexible in terms of seating arrangements. I wrote about it here.

Well, let me give you the update you’ve been waiting for.

The good:

  • I love having our regular desks in a circle where I am just another person in the ring. I think it sends a good message that we are all in this together when we are discussing.
  • The Ikea tables are light and easy to move across the carpet.
  • There are now many places to work in the room and many ways to “find a spot” that don’t all involve huddling in groups near the cubbies.
  • When the tables are lined up close to the front, no one is more than 10 feet from the board for those direct instruction times.
  • Students are able to choose a type of work place that suits them.
  • When students do choose another work place, it is actually conducive to working.

The bad:

  • There are times when I want to be able to go back and forth in classroom design within a short block of time.
  • It’s pretty tight when we’re all up front. The positioning of the table legs means that it’s hard to fit 2 students per side.
  • Why didn’t I think of this a bunch of years ago?

The ugly (still needs work):

  • I think I need some kind of in between set-up where we are mostly in discussion mode, but yet the board is nearby and accessible for notes and ideas.
  • The chairs, the chairs. They don’t move as easily and we have had a few traffic jams.
  • I am still working on planning the day with seating in mind.

So, overall I’m still really excited about the possibilities of this new set-up. It’s definitely a step, or a table, in the right direction. (I’ll add a picture once my camera is charged.)

Comments
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Andrew P. Marcinek, Wendy Eiteljorg. Wendy Eiteljorg said: New blog post: classroom design update after –a few days of school, here's how it's going. thoughts? http://bit.ly/cULCkt #elemchat #edchat […]

Leave a Reply

